Vegetarians and Vegans

This passage discusses the differences between vegetarians and vegans.

Lexile Level: 1070L

Categories: Sports & Health


If you didn't eat meat, fish, or poultry, but still drank milk and ate eggs, you would be called a vegetarian. Vegans, on the other hand, are much stricter. They don't eat any meat, chicken, fish, eggs, milk, or honey. They also don't wear or use any products coming from an animal, such as leather, silk, or wool. Vegetarians and vegans often make the choices they do because they object to using animals for their personal gain. They also object to how animals are treated on farms and in other places. Another reason a person might become a vegetarian or a vegan is that he or she believes that kind of diet is healthier. Vegetarians and vegans eat fruits and vegetables, of course. They also eat beans, nuts, seeds, whole grains, tofu, and soy products. Today there are many food items made with soy that taste just like the real thing including cream cheese, ice cream, and burgers.


Sun Protection

Protecting your skin from sun damage may not always be convenient, but it is not difficult...

Read

Snacking

Eating three meals a day may sound like a good plan, but many of us get hungry between mea...

Read

Biking Safety

The sport of downhill mountain bike racing isn't for riders who are afraid to crash. T...

Read