Vegetarians and Vegans

This passage discusses the differences between vegetarians and vegans.

Lexile Level: 1070L

Categories: Sports & Health


If you didn't eat meat, fish, or poultry, but still drank milk and ate eggs, you would be called a vegetarian. Vegans, on the other hand, are much stricter. They don't eat any meat, chicken, fish, eggs, milk, or honey. They also don't wear or use any products coming from an animal, such as leather, silk, or wool. Vegetarians and vegans often make the choices they do because they object to using animals for their personal gain. They also object to how animals are treated on farms and in other places. Another reason a person might become a vegetarian or a vegan is that he or she believes that kind of diet is healthier. Vegetarians and vegans eat fruits and vegetables, of course. They also eat beans, nuts, seeds, whole grains, tofu, and soy products. Today there are many food items made with soy that taste just like the real thing including cream cheese, ice cream, and burgers.


The Camping Trip

As he prepared for his first overnight camping trip, Danny made sure that he wasn't fo...

Read

Tattoos

A tattoo is a permanent design or mark made on the skin with colored ink. To make a tattoo...

Read

Beating Records

It was the coldest day of the year when Olin set out to break the record. He hadn't pl...

Read